Oak Bay Declares Official Election Results

October 19, 2022

The official results of the election for six Councillors for the District of Oak Bay have been declared. 

Nine candidates ran for six seats on Council.  The following have been declared elected: 

  • Andrew Appleton 
  • Hazel Braithwaite 
  • Cairine Green 
  • Esther Paterson 
  • Carrie Smart 
  • Lesley Watson. 

Mayor Kevin Murdoch was unopposed and was acclaimed as Mayor at the close of nominations on September 20, 2022. 

The Mayor and Councillors will be sworn into office at the Inaugural Council meeting on Monday, November 7, 2022. 

The District would like to thank all candidates and voters for taking part in the democratic process in our District. 


For media inquiries, please contact:
Chief Election Officer - Joanna Winter
Deputy Chief Election Officers – Sarah Morden or Anja Nurvo