Committee of the Whole

Mandate/Terms of Reference: 

The purpose of the Committee is to deal with applications and issues that require more detailed investigation than can be undertaken at the Council level. Committee of the Whole is also the venue for informal public input beyond statutorily mandated processes such as public hearings.  Staff advisors also play a key role at Committee of the Whole meetings.

The Director of Corporate Services is responsible for determining the agenda of each meeting.  The Committee makes recommendations, but decisions take effect only after formal adoption by the members sitting as Council, usually one week after the Committee meeting.

Committee of the Whole agendas are divided into a number of functional sections, including: Parks, Recreation and Culture; Finance; Emergency Services; Engineering Services; Land Use Applications; Public Works; and Regulatory Items.

All members of Council sit on Committee of the Whole.  There are no non-elected members.

Committee of the Whole meetings are chaired by the Councillor currently serving as Acting Mayor.  

  • Kevin Murdoch, Mayor
  • Andrew Appleton, Councillor
  • Hazel Braithwaite, Councillor
  • Cairine Green, Councillor
  • Tara Ney, Councillor
  • Esther Paterson, Councillor
  • Eric Wood Zhelka, Councillor
Meetings and Agendas: 
Thursday, March 12, 2020 - 6:00pm
Monday, February 10, 2020 - 7:45pm
Monday, November 18, 2019 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 - 7:00pm
Monday, July 15, 2019 - 7:00pm to 10:30pm


Contact the Committee of the Whole