Parks, Recreation & Culture Commission

Mandate/Terms of Reference: 

The Commission, established by Bylaw No. 3137, is responsible for overseeing the parks and recreation function, including developing the annual budget, engaging in long-term planning to anticipated future needs, policy matters related to the delivery of recreation programs, the care and custody of recreation facilities, and providing a forum for public input.

The Commission consists of 9 members of the public, who must reside within the Municipality, appointed by Council. Appointments are for two years, to a maximum of 6 consecutive years.

The Public Arts Committee is an advisory body established to advise the Parks, Recreation and Culture Commission and Municipal Council on the implementation of the Public Arts Policy for the District of Oak Bay. The Committee is comprised of seven community members drawn from diverse backgrounds including areas such as art professionals, historians, architects, visual artists with representation from the community and business community including youth representation. 

Every member of the Public Arts Committee is eligible for reappointment but in no event will a member serve for more than 2 consecutive terms, except for two committee members that will serve for 3 terms in order to have an overlap in expertise and processes.

Commission and Committee vacancies are advertised and Council considers all applications. Council strives to ensure that these advisory bodies represent a balance of different interests, abilities and perspectives representing the community.  A demonstrated ability to work productively in a team environment is an essential attribute, as well as an ability to apply analytical skills to staff reports on complex subjects, and with experience in finance and budgeting.  For the advisory bodies, diversity of backgrounds is valued as an essential component of effective governance structure.


Parks, Recreation & Culture Commission

  • Stuart Culbertson
  • Matt Fairbarns
  • James Hoffman
  • Monty Holding, Chair
  • Will Moore
  • Darlene Therrien, Vice Chair
  • Suzanne Weckend
  • Ann Wilmut 

Commission Liaisons:

  • Councillor Hazel Braithwaite, Council Liaison (Councillor Andrew Appleton, Alternate)
  • Ray Herman, Director of Parks, Recreation and Culture, Staff liaison

Public Arts Committee:

  • Barbara Adams, Arts Laureate
  • Robert Amos
  • Jane Evans
  • James Hoffman
  • Patrcia Lortie
  • Jennifer McIntyre
  • Teresa Pryce-Bas

Committee Liaisons:

  • Councillor Hazel Braithwaite, Council Liaison (Councillor Tara Ney, Alternate)
Meetings and Agendas: 
Wednesday, December 4, 2019 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 - 7:00pm


Meetings of the full Commission are held on the first Wednesday of each month, generally at 7:00 p.m. Service on subcommittees may also be required from time to time.

Contact the Parks, Recreation & Culture Commission